Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Troubled Times, both IRL and in Azeroth


Unless you've been living under a rock for the past few months, you'll know that the world's economy has fallen into the twisting nether. Corporate giants and banks have been failing worse than that druid tank I grouped with who forgot to "spec" for faerie fire to pull (hint: THE *$&% TRAINER HAS IT!).


These hard times are not just limited to the real world. Warcraft has seen some setbacks in the quality control department recently.


In the past, Blizzard has always had the mentality of releasing content "when it's ready" and not a moment sooner. Of course gamers being gamers always want their cookies and milk now and will complain about anything that does not go their way. Regardless, Bizzard never differed from their policy of religious attention to detail. Perhaps that is why they have one of the most successful franchises of all time and THE most successful MMO.


However, with the merger of Activision last year that created ActivisionBlizzard (much better name than Blizvision or Actiard) quality seems to be less than top priority. Now don't get me wrong, Wrath of the Lich King has been a phenomenal expansion and arguably Blizzard's best work yet, however, this advancement in product depth and gaming is to be expected. Unfortunately Blizzard seems to be picking up on Activision's old habits regardless of stating that their practice of developing games will not change.


Activision is a corporate monster that is in the business to make money. Proof lies in their history of titles. Guitar Hero, Call of Duty, Quake; all are quality games but are definitely used to extract the most money from consumers. Each game has multiple incarnations. For example, instead of offering the upgrades of guitar hero 2 as an expansion to the original, customers have to buy a whole new game! This business model is fantastic for profit if you can get away with it (and they do). Instead of developing new characters and new ideas, they merely have to improve on old ones and just repackage them.


What does this mean for Blizzard? Well a company like Activision wants to maximize profits. As I described above, they want to hook customers on a franchise and make them pay for multiple installments. With the exception of its expansions, World of Warcraft relies on a different principle to make money, subscriptions. Without constant content updates, WoW's user base would melt like a snowman in June. Now that Activision is in the picture, I guarantee you Blizzard is under pressure to increase revenues, especially in this economic recession. The result? Quicker content development in order to maintain subscribers and potentially get new ones. Quicker content means lesser attention to detail.


If were to create a car, I would want to go through engineering R&D, production and testing. Probably the most important step in this process is the testing. Blizzard's content development is similar (albeit I've dumbed it down a lot for this analogy). R&D is like the developers sitting around musing on ideas to incorporate into the game, production is the actual modification of code, and testing is the QA process before a patch goes live. If Blizzard is getting pressure from Activision to pump out content faster, testing is going to get cut off since it's the easiest to "skip". The result is lackluster product that's not what we've come to expect from Blizzard.


Now there have been many blogs discussing the problems with patch 3.0.8 and I'm not going to dive into specifics, but this latest patch has seen glaring examples of a curtailed QA resulting in an immediate mini patch to fix bugs.


If Blizzard does not take the time to develop like they have in the past, I guarantee they will lose customers. Ironically, if Activision is pressuring Blizzard to cut corners, their bottom line will bleed as customers leave. Cutting corners doesn't save you money if you take advantage of those who provide you revenue!






Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Auto Review: BMW 135i


I believe I was in 5th grade at the time. I was with a friend of mine on his family's ranch somewhere in east Texas. Along with the occasional chicken and cow, there was also a barn and a dusty dirt road that connected the 19th century Victorian house with a traditional red barn. At this time, my fondness of cars had already taken hold of me.


Rex, my friend, had on this farm a small two stroke gas powered car that looked like a miniature version of a model T. It had the basics, a steering wheel and a bench seat that could accompany a couple of 5th graders. Anyone over 5 1/2 feet tall would have a hell of a time fitting in this thing. Throttle was controlled not by pedals but by a small lever that ran from left to right on the steering column. All the way left meant you were sitting still while all the way right meant you were going at formula one speeds (15mph). Oh yea, and there were no brakes.


All day Rex and I drove down that small dirt road to the barn and back. The total trip took about 45 seconds. Our final journey of the day saw myself behind the wheel of the pseudo model T. I had been warned that there were no brakes, but that did not stop me from sliding the throttle from sane to ludicrous speed. Our 45 second trip only took 30 and ended with the model T embracing the barn door.


Fast forward to today and the new BMW 135i coupe. Bavaria’s latest two door comes equipped with the E92's 3.0L I6 with two snails bolted on. The turbos are small to decrease lag and provide a torque curve you could eat off of. Power stats on the car are impressive: 300hp @ 5800 rpm and 300 ft/lbs @ 1400 - 5000 rpm.


What I like most about the car is the fact that it takes me back to the ranch in east Texas. Sure the little model T wasn't equipped with idrive, bluetooth, or even HVAC controls, but boy was it fun to drive. Handling is predictable although I do wish there was a touch less understeer. However, the Bimmer will wag it's tail with some judicious use of the LOL pedal.


Now, the 135i is not cheep, especially when you start ticking boxes on the options sheet. Base is well under $40,000 however, a fully optioned one will MSRP for over $45,000. That's getting into Boxster territory. Also, there are other cars out there that will perform better at a cheaper price (370z, Evo X), but at a trade off. The Nissan does not have a rear seat or a trunk worth mentioning and the Evo's interior makes me want to take a fork to my eyes. The BMW on the other hand is an all around good car. It can seat four in a pinch, has a proper trunk, and will get you in trouble on public roads rather quickly. It's suspension may not be for the hardcore but that's ok for 99.9% of car buyers. Most times it will not even see a race track, only the daily commute. For those that do see the track on occasion, it's abilities will be more than ample to make you giddy like a school girl.


Dislikes? The part of the dashboard housing the speedo and tach looks like a goofy hat on an otherwise smooth dash, the brakes provided by Brembo seem to have problems of disintegrating when pressed to the max (read 10/10ths on the track for extended periods), and some may dislike the Bangle styling.


That being said, the pluses greatly outweigh the minuses of this car. If you are looking for a pleasant daily driver that will make the boss's Cayman look silly on the track, then the little Bimmer is for you.


Like the model T on the ranch, The 135i takes the small car enjoyment and gives it a shot of steroids, and it even has brakes to prevent you from hitting the barn!




Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars.


What a Strange Journey this will be...


Well I finally did it. I've sat down and decided to create a blog. Well actually I've been sitting for a while doing nothing and finally got bored reading other blogs such as wowinsider and joystiq.

Instead, the
Clarkson in me decided to ask the ever dangerous question "how hard can it be?" Come with me on this journey. We will laugh a little, cry a little, but in the end I hope to make you wonder how the hell you ended up on this strange strange blog.

Oh yes, about me. From my reading of other start up blogs it seems the typical way to start off is to introduce myself. I'm a young professional in my early 2os. After university, I started working for a litigation consulting firm. All my life I've been interested in three things, making money, video games, and cars. Not your Honda Accords or Toyota Camry's either, but the M3's and AMG's of the world. Remember, I'm in my 20's, not 50's.

In respect to video games, I enjoy almost everything, especially those with a good story. I am not ashamed to say that I'm a World of Warcraft addict (been playing for about 3 years now). Also, I'm not some anti social, pimple faced teenager one typically stereotypes as the MMO enthusiast. In fact, I do have a wonderful girlfriend (a new WoW player) who enjoys turning into a bear and mauling things into submission (she's only 5'4"!) . I am, however, a geek that occasionally enjoys performing reconstructive surgery on horde in Arathi Basin using a delicate
instrument.

Hi, I'm Chris and I enjoy log walks in Stranglethorn vale...

This blog will give you some insight of what goes on in my mind. For those of you not priviledged enough to actually hear the voices, err, ideas in my head, I will write them down for discussion. In this blog you will find:

-Car Reviews: This is not
edmunds, no objective data here. Instead you will get completely irrational reasoning as to why I love or hate a particular auto and why you should to.

-Musings on World of Warcraft: Perhaps I just got ganked by an overpowered Deathknight. These posts will allow me to get even. *Wall of text crits you for 10284 intellectual damage, you die*. Who's better now? I ganked you IRL!!!11!one

-The Economy: or what stocks NOT to pick. Do not follow my portfolio for fear of seeing your savings/401k disappear as if you had given all your money to
"that guy"

If you enjoy the blog, leave a comment! If you hate the blog, leave a comment, I just won't read it... Kthxbai!